, ,

Diplomat of the Year Awards 2017

Ambassadors, Heads of Missions and International Organizations and the Corporate Sector converged on the Cresta Lodge, Sango Conference Centre for the serene evening of 10 March 2017 to receive Diplomat of the Year Awards 2016 from the Diplomacy Appreciation Trust (DAT).  The event, graced by the UN Coordinator, Mr Bishow Parajuli (Guest of Honour) was to underscore and in a befitting manner the selfless and sterling work done by Members of the Diplomatic Corps and the Corporate Sector in promoting peace, diplomacy and development in Africa.

Outstanding diplomats from Africa, Europe, Asia, America and the Middle East scooped the awards. Flanked with his European counterparts, His Excellency Philippe Van Damme, the European Union  Head of Delegation to Zimbabwe, was the overall winner of the Diplomat of the Year Award 2016.

Conspicuous at the Awards Gala was the bestowing upon Addressing participants at the ceremony, UN Resident Coordinator to Zimbabwe, Mr Bishow Parajuli, who was also the Guest of Honour said, “We need an innovative system to achieve the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development which aims to uplift 1.2 billion people out of poverty, redeem 800 million from hunger, ensure access to quality education for 20 million children, achieve universal health coverage for all and inclusive growth and decent jobs for all.”

Worth mentioning is the honorary award of the former President, diplomat of Zambia, Kenneth Kaunda, that was given to Mr Humphrey Mweya Mushili, the Chargé d’affaires of Zambia to Zimbabwe. One of the most celebrated prodigious leaders and founding father of modern Africa, undoubtedly the former President deserves to be awarded for his role in the diplomatic world.

Diplomacy could greatly facilitate such a system innovation which in turn will increase the chances of a successful implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development at national, regional and global levels.


Diplomat of the Year from Africa

Winners: His Excellency, Mphakama Mbete (Ambassador of South Africa)

Her Excellency, Balbina Daes Pienaar (Ambassador of Namibia)


His Excellency, Mwelwa Ng’ona Chibesakunda (Ambassador of the Republic of Zambia)


Diplomat of the Year from Europe

Winners: Her Excellency, G.A.A Sneller (Ambassador of Netherlands)

                             His Excellency, Enrico De Agostini (Ambassador of Italy)

His Excellency, Philippe Van Damme (European Union Head of Delegation)


Diplomat of the Year from the Middle East (Including all Arab countries in Africa)


Winners: His Excellency, Moayad Fathallah Mohamed El Dalie (Ambassador of  Egypt)

Her Excellency, Taghrid Senouar (Ambassador of Palestine)


Diplomat of the Year from Americas

Winner: His Excellency, Elio Savon Oliva (Ambassador of Cuba)   


Diplomat of the Year from Asia and Ocean

Winners: His Excellency, Huang Ping     (Ambassador of China)

Her Excellency, Suzanne McCourt (Ambassador of Australia)


Outstanding Deputy Ambassadors /First Secretaries

Winners:        Mr Amarjit Singh Sarjit Singh (Chargé d’ Affaires  of Malaysia)

                             Mr Fahad Alshatti (Deputy Ambassador of Kuwait)